Sigma Delta Mu Honor Society Inducts 20 Impressive SBVC Students

This spring, 20 outstanding foreign language students were initiated into Sigma Delta Mu, the national honor society for Hispanic Studies at two-year colleges. Former Modern Languages Department Chair George Iwanaga brought Sigma Delta Mu to San Bernardino Valley College in the 1980s, just a few years after it was founded by Dr. T. Earle Hamilton in 1979. Sigma Delta Mu has its foundation in Sigma Delta Pi, the United States' largest honor society for foreign languages. 

To become a member of the San Bernardino Valley College chapter, a student must be nominated by a Spanish professor, have a 3.0 overall grade point average and a 4.0 grade point average in Spanish classes, and have at least two semesters of Spanish under their belt. 
At the end of every spring semester, an induction ceremony is held, recognizing the students' achievements. They receive pins and certificates, and refreshments are served to the new members and their guests. 

"Each semester, the department sends out a letter asking for contributions," Nori Sogomonian, Spanish professor and co-chair of the Modern Languages Department, said. "We have some staff on campus who regularly contribute and we are very grateful for their kindness." 

Sigma Delta Mu strives to honor students who attain excellence in the study of Spanish, encourage a deeper understanding among college students of Hispanic cultures, and foster friendly relations between people who speak English and those who speak Spanish. 

"The ceremony includes a reading from the charter website — it's the initiation ceremony which praises students' accomplishments and emphasizes the importance of continuing to engage in and recognize Spanish-speaking cultures," Sogomonian said. 

The spring ceremony honored the following San Bernardino Valley College students: Anel Aguayo, Jamie Araujo, Adriana Ascencio, Susana Blanco, Sally Castillo, Gustavo González, Brianna Gutiérrez, Jocelyn Gutiérrez, Noemi Gutiérrez, Karla Ledesma, Jorge Manzano, Regina Melloy, Myra Ortiz, Laura Osorio, Julia Rosales, and Florence Wanjiku.