The San Bernardino Valley College Foundation honored a pair of athletes with the William Harrison Jr. Memorial Award, presented to the male and female athletes of the year, at an awards ceremony last month. Men’s distance runner Carlos De la Torre and women’s soccer player Jordan Steele were selected for the honor from a pool of nominations submitted by the SBVC coaching staff. 
Steele, a sophomore who is graduating this summer, will be transferring in the fall with a full scholarship to Louisiana State University-Alexandria, where she will continue her career. The graduate of Tahquitz High School was a two-year captain for the Wolverines  leading the team to conference championships both seasons  and was selected to the All-Pacific Coast Athletic Conference team both seasons. She earned the PCAC Player of the Year award following the 2017 season, and was selected for the California Community College Soccer Coaches Association Sophomore Showcase. She was a two-year All-State and All-Region selection as well. 
De la Torre just completed his freshman year at SBVC. A Jurupa Valley Patriot High School graduate, de la Torre had a stellar first season with the Wolverines. In cross country, he won the Pacific Coast Athletic Conference championship, setting a course record at Gaujome Park in Oceanside, finishing the course in 20 minutes, 31 seconds. His victory helped propel the Wolverines to their 22nd straight conference championship. He finished fifth at the Southern California championships and eighth at the State championships, earning All-American designation. In track, he was the PCAC champion in the 800 and 1500 meters, and finished sixth in the state at 5,000 meters, earning second team All-American designation. 
The William Harrison Jr. Memorial Award is a scholarship given annually to one male and one female athlete from SBVC. Harrison graduated from SBVC in 1935 and owned Harrison Sporting Goods, providing several gifts of service to the school. In 1947, he annually awarded a Harrison Sporting Goods Trophy to the school’s athlete of the year.