Mission Statement:The objective of the CalWORKs Program is to provide educational opportunities that will result in career preparation for individuals who are currently receiving welfare, transitioning off welfare, unemployed or under-employed to achieve economic stability.  Job Development and Placement Services prepares students to attain lifelong career success as they make career decisions, develop job search strategies, pursue experiential opportunities, and secure meaningful employment.

What Is CalWORKs? (California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids)

 

CalWORKs is the welfare reform program established by

Assembly Bill (AB) 1542.

 

San Bernardino Valley College CalWORKs Program is designed to assist students receiving County CalWORKs enhance and achieve educational goals and employment self-sufficiency.  Qualified students are eligible to receive the following services:  book vouchers, book loans, access to computer lab, parking permit vouchers, gas cards, child care assistance, educational counseling, and employment assistance. For more information or to enroll in the CalWORKs Program, contact us at 909-384-4429 or visit the CalWORKs and Workforce Development Department located in the Campus Center Room 208.

 

Office Location:

Campus Center Room 208

 

Regular Office hours:

Monday - Thursday 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. & Fridays 8:00 A.M. to 2:00 P.M.

 

*Office and Campus Closures (See Academic Calendars Link Below)

Academic Calendars

Staff Contact Information:

Shalita Tillman
CalWORKs & Workforce Development
Manager
(909) 384-8659
e-mail: stillman@valleycollege.edu

Bonnie Rodriguez-Cruz
CalWORKs/WAIII
Secretary II
(909) 384-4460
e-mail: brodrigu@valleycollege.edu

Leslie Gregory, M.A.
CalWORKs/WIOA/EDD
Counselor
(909) 387-1649
e-mail: lgregory@valleycollege.edu

M. Kathryn Urell, M.S.W.
CalWORKs/WIOA/EDD
Counselor
(909) 384-5470
e-mail: murell@valleycollege.edu

Anita Hernandez
CalWORKs/WAIII
Job Developer
(909) 387-1629
e-mail: ahernandez@valleycollege.edu

Patricia Valenzuela
CalWORKs
Student Services Technician II
(909) 384-8624
e-mail: pvalenzuela@valleycollege.edu

Wendy Nahuat
CalWORKs & Workforce Development
Program Assistant
(909) 387-1687
e-mail: wnahuat@valleycollege.edu

 

It’s always a GREAT day at San Bernardino Valley College!