MINUTES ACCREDITATION COMMITTEE OCTOBER 10, 2013 1:00 P.M. PRESIDENT'S CONFERENCE ROOM

ATTENDEES: James Smith; Horace Alexander; Tim Forrest; Rick Hrdlicka; Elaine Akers; Cindy Parish; Celia Huston; Haragewen Kinde; Guy Hinrichs; Rose King; Joe Cabrales; Kay Weiss; Jack Jackson; Odette McGinnis; Algie Au; Susan Bangasser; Dena Peters.

Minutes—September 26, 2013: The minutes were reviewed and approved with corrections. James Smith motioned to approve the minutes; Rick Hrdlicka 2nd the motion.

Review Standards 3B and 3C: There was discussion on a conference attended by Haragewen Kinde, Celia Huston, Kay Weiss, and Algie Au, which they felt provided valuable feedback and network connections. Each one shared what they believed would be a benefit to the college and the accreditation process related to compliance/ intentionality and culture change for the students. Further discussion ensued on student learning from assessment from a professional development standpoint, and how we can work together to make things better (e.g., assessment/embed; SLOs, collect artifacts; measure samples; specialize evidence; evidence for accreditation.

Scott Stark requested to pull 3B for today's discussion.

Handouts of Standards 3C & 2C were distributed for review by the subcommittees.

Committee Charge: Discussion by Academic Senate that Accreditation and Student Lerning Outcomes should be separate committees. Accreditation is a standing committee. Meetings will be ongoing so we can prepare the reports overtime, e.g., annual collection.

Next Meeting: October 24, 2013, 1:00-2:30 p.m. All meetings will be held in the President's Conference Room, ADSS-207, unless otherwise noted.