CLASSIFIED SENATE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, June 30, 2016

1:00-2:30 p.m. - President's Conference Room

1. Opening: President Beavor called the meeting to order at 1:14 p.m.

2. Roll Call:

Attendees: Angela Grotke, Aaron Beavor, Gloria Kracher, Mary Valdemar, Kathryn Jaramillo, Girija Raghavan, Ana Bojorquez, Rose Garcia, Christie Gabriel-Millette, Charles Burton, Dena Peters, Anita Moore,

- <u>3.</u> <u>Approval of Agenda</u>: The agenda was approved, **Aaron Beavor 1**st, **Dena Peters 2nd.** Christie Gabriel-Millette abstained. Agenda is approved with one abstention.
- 4. Approval of Minutes: The minutes for the April 6, 2016 meeting was approved, **Dena**Peters 1st, Aaron Beavor 2nd. Approval is unanimous.

5. New Business:

<u>Scholarship Update:</u> 4 students will receive scholarships for \$250, and the leftover amount will go into the foundation account. A motion was made to follow this format-where we will have 4 scholarships, and the extra will go into the foundation, 1st-Christie Gabriel-Millette, 2nd-Dena Peters. Approval was unanimous. The checks will be distributed to the students on July 1, 2016.

*Note-This table lists the amount in each account before checks were distributed.

General	\$1,264.17
Scholarship	\$1,302.90
Foundation	\$1,720.49

 <u>Classified Connection Week Recap:</u> We had very good turnout and feedback for Classified Connection Week. We were able to get employees from the Child Development Center to attend, which was a big step.

- Begin Procedure for Reviewing Constitution: Table to next meeting.
- <u>Election for Classified Senate Officers:</u> Following is a list of the officers and senators that were nominated:

Nominations for E-board				
Name	1st Motion	2 _{nd} Motion		
President	Aaron Beavor	A. Moore	D. Peters	
Vice President	Kathryn Jaramillo	M. Valdemar	D. Peters	
Secretary	Angela Grotke	C. Gabriel-Millette	M. Valdemar	
Treasurer	Gloria Kracher	M. Valdemar	A. Moore	
Historian	Ana Bojorquez	C. Gabriel-Millette	D. Peters	
Nominations for Senators				
Name	1st Motion	2nd M	2 _{nd} Motion	
Senator	Caleab Losee	M. Valdemar	G. Kracher	
Senator	Anita Moore	G. Kracher	K. Jaramillo	
Senator	Christie Gabriel-	A. Bojorquez	A. Beavor	
	Millette			
Senator	Charles Burton	A. Bojorquez	A. Beavor	
Senator	Dena Peters	A. Beavor	A. Bojorquez	
Senator	Robyn Bender	K. Jaramillo	M. Valdemar	
Senator	Mary Valdemar	A. Moore	K. Jaramillo	
Senator	Catalina Trasporte	A. Bojorquez	A. Beavor	
Senator	Rosemary Rivera-	M. Valdemar	A. Bojorquez	
	Reza			
Senator	John Feist	A. Beavor	M. Valdemar	
Senator	Rebecca Dean	A. Beavor	K. Jaramillo	

Elections for officers and senators will take place next Thursday, July 7, 2016. Dena Peters will send out an email today, June 30, to ensure that Classified employees receive the nominations and the agenda 72 hours in advance of the meeting. Dena Peters also informed them that nominations were open until July 6, 2016, at 12:00pm.

6. Guest Speaker: None

7. Reports:

- A. ASG: No report.
- B. Academic Senate: No report.
- C. <u>Classified Senate/Committees</u>:
 - Treasurer's Report:
 - <u>District Assembly Report:</u> no report.
 - <u>Program Review:</u> No report.
- D. College President's Report: No report.
- E. <u>CSEA:</u> No report.
- F. College Council:
- 8. Meeting Adjournment: Meeting was adjourned at 2:26.
 - *Minutes submitted by Angela Grotke