DRAFT: Policy and Procedure for Selecting Outstanding Adjunct Professor

BACKGROUND:

San Bernardino Valley College will honor the outstanding adjunct college professor at the Annual Spotlighting Our Success banquet to be held in May of each year.

POLICY:

The selection of outstanding adjunct professor should be based on a spectrum of criteria generally held to be valid. Outstanding professors will be elected by their peers (i.e., other regular contract or adjunct faculty members.) Professors who have been honored previously under this policy in the immediately preceding five years will not be eligible for nomination.

PROCEDURE:

- 1. CALL FOR NOMINATIONS. Members of the regular Contract and adjunct faculty are invited to submit nominations. Also invited are Faculty Chairs, Division Deans, Certificated Directors, and the Student Senate. Every nomination will be supported by the nomination setting forth reasons supporting the nomination based on the following suggested criteria: (1) Effectiveness as a Teacher, (2) Service to students, (3) Contributions to the College Community, (4) Publications and Research, (5) Volunteer work in the community, (6) Number of years of service, and (7) any additional criteria the nominating person deems significant. (Note: the criteria are, as the policy says, suggestions. They do not need to be rigidly adhered to in the nominating letter.) Supporting letters will be on file and available for reading by voters.
- 2. VOTING. A list of nominees and all supporting letters will be available to every regular contract and adjunct Faculty member. Voting, whether conducted by paper ballot or online instrument, shall be anonymous. Contract and adjunct faculty members may vote for one nominees.
- COUNTING BALLOTS. At the close of the voting the elections committee of the Academic Senate will
 determine which nominee received the highest number of votes. In the event of a tie there will be a tiebreaker vote. Results for selection of outstanding professors will be reported to the President of the
 Academic Senate.